My Summer Reading List

This summer, in fact a week from Friday, I will become the leader of a new school. One of my goals this summer as I prepare to meet a new community of learners in August, is to reflect on who I am as a leader and how I will illustrate that to the community. My goal for this post is to catalog readings I come across this summer so I have a place to store them so I can return to them in the future. My hope is to use this format as a journal of my readings.

June 19: “Help Me I’m Being Criticized”

June 19: “WWF Summer Book Study” – I am looking forward to following this site to get ideas for running a book study next year.

June 19: “How Do You Choose an Intervention” from ASCD

July 2: I started Mike Schmoker’s book Focus: Elevating the Essentials to Radically Improve Student Learning Hoping to participate in ASCD’s book group about it July 19-21

July 4: “Advice to a New Administrator” from Connected Principals

July 4: “My ISTE 2011 Goals and Ideas for my Classroom” – I am looking forward to reading up on people’s experiences at ISTE and this seems like a good place to start! Another post worth reading I cam across today is – http://edu-mashup.blogspot.com/

July 4:  “My #1 Recommended Resource” – a fellow principal writes about the power of Twitter and of creating a PLN

July 12: “Sage Advice: Leaders of Learning” – Educators from across the country answer the question, “What makes a great school principal?”

July 12: “Seven Habits of Highly Creative People”

July 12: “Passing the Puke”

July 12: “Choose Your Sidewalk Carefully”

July 12: “Ten Reasons Children and Adults Need Vitamin N”

July 13: “Potential Leaders Are All Around Us”

July 13: “Making Thinking Visible”

July 13: “10 Questions Looking for a Yes Answer”

July 14: Are You Sure You’re the Principal?: A Guide for New and Aspiring Leaders by Susan Villani – I am looking forward to journaling about this book as Susan has given me a lot to think about!

Do you have a reading to recommend as I embark on this journey?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jeff Raybon
    Jul 03, 2011 @ 22:49:21

    I liked this post and the advice it contained. I’m a middle school teacher in Mobile, AL and I coach football, so I always have to deal with some criticism. I especially liked the questions and principles contained in the link you provided. Thanks

    Reply

  2. Jessica Johnson
    Jul 04, 2011 @ 23:17:21

    I’ll be interested to see in how you keep up with this. I read so many blogs/articles each day, it’s hard to keep track! I tried to keep a “twitter journal” for a week to list all of the things I learned from my PLN and I gave up after 2 days, because there was SO much!

    Reply

  3. Steve Francis
    Jul 08, 2011 @ 04:20:07

    Starting at a new school is a challenging time. The first 100 days are vital. I wrote an ebook advising what to do (and equally what not to do)! Happy to email you a copy steve@happyschool.com.au

    We are also getting a great response to our Happy School articles (designed to reduce teacher stress and boost staff morale) – have a look at http://www.happyschool.com.au

    Reply

Leave a Reply

