Happy New Year!

Happy New Year! Shana Tova! Feliz año Nuevo! Shuvo noboborsho! Xin nian yu kuai! Sehe Bokmanee Bateuseyo! Sawatdee Pi Mai! The joyous ringing in of the New Year is a custom that crosses all cultural boundaries. It is a time to celebrate the accomplishments of the previous year and to set goals for the upcoming year.

In many ways the first day of school is like New Year’s Day. Since I was little, I have always relished in the beginning of a new school year. I vividly remember the night before school started as a young child. There was a special excitement in the air that is difficult to describe in words. I would lay out my first day of school outfit and organize my crisp, new school supplies and then wait with anxious anticipation for the morning to come. That first day was magical – a new beginning, a chance to start fresh, to make new friends and to set lofty goals for the upcoming year.

We are ready for this new school year! A world of possibilities and opportunities awaits each one of us. The beginning of a new year gives us a wonderful opportunity to celebrate our previous accomplishments and to set goals/resolutions for the upcoming year. I encourage all educators to engage in a similar conversation. What are you proud of from last year? What are areas for needed growth on which you would like to work? What are your goals or resolutions for this new year?

My resolution is to continually strive to be a better principal than I was the year before – I take seriously my charge to build and to sustain a culture within our school that is safe and welcoming for all. In the words of American poet Edith Lovejoy Pierce,  “We will open the book.  Its pages are blank.  We are going to put words on them ourselves.  The book is called Opportunity and its first chapter is New Year’s Day.” I am looking forward to the opportunities that await as I begin working with the staff at my new school tomorrow – as long as Hurricane Irene does not get in the way!

I look forward to sharing this New Year with my PLN – best wishes for a joyous and successful year!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Howell Wright
    Aug 30, 2011 @ 09:09:40

    Great way to introduce a new school year with a New Year’s theme. I trust that Irene did not impact you all too much. When we had a string of hurricanes a few years ago it was miserable and it misplaced a lot of students and parents right after school started. Have a great year.
    Howell Wright

    Reply

    • jvincentsen
      Sep 01, 2011 @ 11:02:04

      Thanks, Howell. Irene did impact us here with large parts of the town without power including 4 schools. We delayed our opening from this past Wednesday until Tuesday and are hoping the power will be back on by then. We shall see. I hope you have a great school year!

      Reply

  2. Robin Hendricks
    Sep 10, 2011 @ 21:48:01

    I love being able to look back at the previous year and reflect. It gives you an opportunity to plan the new year and hopefully improve yourself. It is very liberating to me. In relation to the school year, I can look back and count how many hours closer I am to becoming a teacher. Sometimes, it’s much more encouraging than looking at what still lies ahead.
    Your story about the feeling you would get as a child the night before the first day of school reminded me of myself. I thought I was the only person who got tired of summer and got excited about the new school year. In fact, my son started kindergarten this year and I was able to live vicariously through him which was an awesome experience.
    Good luck to you and I hope that you have many opportunities to learn, grow, and accomplish all of your goals this year!
    Robin Hendricks
    Feel free to visit my blog at http://www.hendricksrobinedm310.blogspot.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

