Unpacking My Invisible Backpack

Invisible backpack? Huh? Read this placement letter 2011 for more explanation.

Tomorrow is my opening day with the teachers at my new school. All summer I have been prepping for this day with thoughts of how I would set the tone for my leadership. When the meeting was postponed earlier this week due to the impact of Hurricane Irene on the town, I was crest fallen. I worried about staff members impacted by the storm and I worried about the impact of not having this important time together on our staff’s culture.

Well, luckily that meeting was just postponed – not cancelled – and tomorrow is the big day. I am looking forward to this time with the staff with anxious anticipation. What will tomorrow bring?

Here is a link to my Prezi (my first!) that I will show to unpack my backpack for the staff. I am looking forward to the opportunity!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Robin Hendricks
    Sep 04, 2011 @ 20:50:59

    Hello! My name is Robin Hendricks and I am a student at the University of South Alabama and I am currently taking EDM310 with Dr. Strange. I had no idea so many teachers and educators used technology in these ways to interact and share ideas. The concept is new and fascinating to me (and a little scary).
    Your blog about your “invisible backpack” is such a great metaphor and is so true. You used it in a way that makes the idea non-intimidating which is a good way to get to know your staff. I hope that all went well and that the new school year is going well so far. Feel free to visit my blog at http://www.hendricksrobinedm310.blogspot.com.
    Robin Hendricks

    Reply

    • jvincentsen
      Sep 05, 2011 @ 13:23:03

      Hi Robin, Thank you for your comments. My opening day went better than I hoped – we are off to a great start! Now we turn to opening day for students tomorrow. Best of luck in your school year. I look forward to reading about your adventures on your blog!

      Reply

  2. Gretchen McPherson
    Oct 30, 2011 @ 23:12:02

    Ms. Vincentsen,
    I read your placement letter, and I must say, I was a Girl Scout camp counselor at Camp Pondicherry in Maine for a summer in 1992 (Kennebeck GS Council) and spent eight other summers in FL and AL at GS camps! They affected me the same way; I loved every moment, and can say that pre-camp, where you decide whose personalities work best with whose in the units for the summer is a LOT like teaching or administrating in school! You have to come up with the best way to compose a team, get to know it, and find out all you can to make it run efficiently! The “invisible backpack” concept is great-and it surely DOES set the tone for your leadership. With a background in camping and counseling, you must be one motivating leader, organizer and strong force in your school. I remember those ‘check in’ days with parents, children and welcoming concepts; those are some fond memories, AND they definitely give those who participate a sense of direction and purpose! I am thrilled to be in the cyber company of a fellow camp counselor!!

    Thanks again for the ideas and inspiration-
    Gretchen M. McPherson

    Reply

  3. Laptop backpacks
    Apr 12, 2013 @ 07:08:36

    This is the right website for anyone who wishes to find out about this topic. You know a whole lot its almost tough to argue with you (not that I personally would want to…HaHa). You certainly put a fresh spin on a subject which has been written about for decades. Great stuff, just wonderful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

